Cub Scouts

Cub Scouting

Cub Scouting

Cub Scouts is a year-round program that offers fun activities that promote character and leadership development. Our program is designed to be hands-on, and parents are encouraged to play an active role in our programs.


How Scouting Works

The Scouting program is delivered through local civic, faith-based, and educational institutions called chartered organizations, which operate Scouting units to deliver the programs to their youth members, as well as the community at large. 

Why Cub Scouting?

Parents of young boys and girls face a lot of choices in extracurricular activities. Children want to have fun, while parents want them to learn positive values and skills that will last a lifetime. If your Child is in kindergarten through fifth grade, Cub Scouting may be exactly what you both are looking for.

Cub Scouting has 10 Purposes

  1. Character Development
  2. Spiritual Growth
  3. Good Citizenship
  4. Sportsmanship and Fitness
  5. Family Understanding
  6. Respectful Relationships
  7. Personal Achievement
  8. Friendly Service
  9. Fun and Adventure
  10. Preparation for Scouts BSA

As Parents You Can Be Assured

Cub Scouting means “doing.” Everything in Cub Scouting is designed to have the boys and girls doing things. Activities are used to achieve the aims of Scouting – citizenship training, character development and personal fitness.

Many of the activities happen right in weekly Den meetings and the monthly Pack meetings.

  • Involves a variety of family activities
  • Encourages good behavior
  • Teaches lifelong values
  • Strengthens the bonds of family
  • And as a kid, your child can be assured that Cub Scouting is fun!
Leave this world a little better than you found it.

— Robert Baden-Powell, founder of the worldwide Scout Movement

Welcome to Cub Scouting
Character Development

The mission of the Boy Scouts of America is to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.

Confidence Building

Scouting promotes activities that lead to personal responsibility and high self-esteem. As a result, when hard decisions have to be made, peer pressure can be resisted and the right choices can be made.

Outdoor Experiences

Cub Scouts enjoy many outdoor experiences as they participate in the variety of activities that can be held outside, such as field trips, hikes, nature and conservation experiences, and outdoor games.

Cub Scout Values

As a Cub Scout, you do your best and you help others. You learn the Cub Scout Promise and the Law of the Pack. You learn what they mean and also how to recite them through Baloo.

A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.

On my honor I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country
and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong,
mentally awake, and morally straight.

Be Prepared

The Cub Scout colors are blue and gold. The blue stands for truth and spirituality, steadfast loyalty, and the sky above. The gold stands for warm sunlight, good cheer, and happiness. Together, they symbolize what Cub Scouting is all about

There are different uniforms for each program level:

To see the appropriate uniform

Click Here


Recognition is important to young boys. The Cub Scout advancement plan provides fun for the boys, gives them a sense of personal achievement as they earn rank badges and extra awards. It also strengthens family understanding as adult family members work with boys on various advancement projects. All of the activities which are part of the advancement requirements are age-appropriate to the den.

LionBobcatTigerWolfBearWebelosArrow of LightAdventuresAdditional Awards

Kindergartners work toward the Lion rank. The Lion rank is earned by completing five adventures as described below. Although participation with an adult partner is required for all Lion awards, recognition items are for the Scouts only.

Learn More!


The Bobcat rank is for all boys who join Cub Scouting. Every new Cub Scout, regardless of his age, earns the Bobcat rank before he receives any other award. A Cub Scout earns this award by learning and demonstrating he has learned the basics of Cub Scouting. This involves learning the Cub Scout Promise and the Law of the Pack in addition to other facets of Cub Scout information

Learn More!

The Tiger Cub program is for first grade (or age 7) boys and their adult partners. There are five Tiger Cub achievement areas. The Tiger Cub, working with his adult partner, completes 15 requirements within these areas to earn the Tiger Cub Badge. These requirements consist of an exciting series of indoor and outdoor activities just right for a boy in the first grade. After he has earned his rank, there are 50 elective activities for him to continue to learn and grow with his adult partner. For each elective he completes, he earns a bead to display.

Learn More!

The Wolf program is for boys who have completed first grade (or are age 8). To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass twelve achievements involving simple physical and mental skills. After he has earned his rank, a boy may continue earning awards in the form of arrow points. For every 10 arrow point activities he completes, he earns an arrow point to display under his rank badge.

Learn More!

The Bear rank is for boys who have completed second grade (or are age 9). There are 24 Bear achievements in four categories. The Cub Scout must complete 12 of these to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are somewhat more difficult and challenging than those for Wolf rank. After he has earned his rank, a boy may continue earning awards in the form of arrow points. For every 10 arrow point activities he completes, he earns an arrow point to display under his rank badge.

Learn More!

The Webelos rank is for boys who have completed third grade (or are age 10). A boy may begin working on the Webelos badge as soon as he joins a Webelos den. This is the first step in his transition from the Webelos den to the Boy Scout troop. As he completes the requirements found in the Webelos Scout Book, he will work on activity badges, attend meetings led by adults, and become familiar with the Boy Scout requirements-all leading to the Arrow of Light Award.

Learn More!

The Arrow of Light is the highest rank that Cub Scouts offers. It is one of only a very select few Cub Scout awards that can transfer to a Boy Scout uniform (the others being knot awards like the religious knot) and even be desplayed on an adult leader uniform in knot form. A Cub Scout begins working on this award in the Webelos den. The Arrow of Light may be earned in conjunction with earning the Webelos badge depending upon how much time he has in the Webelos den.

Learn More!

Cub Scouts earn adventures that are specific to their grade and rank. A number of adventures must be completed to earn the badge of rank for each grade level. Adventures may be earned in any order. Completion of adventures is how the aims of character, citizenship, leadership, and personal fitness are developed.

Learn More!

There are several opportunities for Cub Scouts to be recognized above and beyond the rank recognition program. The Segment Program and the Scout Month patch have been developed in the Grand Teton Council to recognize Scouts for their extra effort in the program. The Academics and Sports Program (belt loops and pins), the NOVA and Super NOVA programs, and several outdoor awards have been implemented at a national level for added for additional achievement opportunities.

Learn More!